Outfit #2 – FLORAL SWING DRESS

New Look Blue Ditsy Floral Print High Neck Swing Dress

 

I decided to start with the swing dress because ever since it has gotten above freezing I have been a dress fiend! Last summer I purchased a couple of Brandy Melville dresses and fell in love with the swing dress style.
IMG_8947[1]
I found this plus size women’s blouse at the goodwill outlet and knew it would be perfect for a swing dress! Granted I had to look past the sky high shoulder pads! Another issue was that as is it wasn’t quite flowy enough to be a true swing dress, but I had a plan. Since this was to be a sun dress the sleeves were going to be coming off anyway so why not form triangles and add them to the sides?!? As always I had some help with this.
IMG_8951[1]
He may not be able to sew but he makes a great paperweight! In addition to taking off the sleeves I also took off the collar in order to lower the neckline of the dress. I knew I wanted to do something rather cool with the straps to make this dress truly a stand out in my wardrobe. I will admit that I at first attached straps that were a bit different but after wearing it around the house to test the fit I decided that they would need to be changed. I am beyond happy that I did because I think what I came up with on the second attempt is a far better idea.
IMG_8985[1]
I am extremely happy with how this dress has turned out, and I think I may make a few more!
IMG_8979[1]
One thought on “Outfit #2 – FLORAL SWING DRESS

  1. Pingback: My New & Old

Leave a Reply

