The Long and Bike shorts of it!

Ok I know that was a horrible pun, but hey I’m running on caffeine and reruns of Project Runway! So at this point summer is in full swing and the temperatures are climbing! I will fully admit that I am not a shorts girl. Typically I can be found in a dress or a skirt, but saying that I could only play Marilyn Monroe in The Seven Year Itch so many times before it gets old. Last summer I splurged and purchased a pair of bike shorts from a real retail store (gasp)! They were a great investment, but I had an idea to cheaply make my own! Every thrift store in my area has hundreds of yoga pants why not chop them off and make shorts! I picked up these yoga capri pants a while back and had been meaning to narrow them out ever since getting them so I decided these would be my test subject!069

From there I just figured out the new length that I wanted them which I used the old bike shorts as a reference. I knew I wanted them slightly longer not only because they were less stretchy, but because if they rode up a little I wanted them to still clearly look like shorts. I also added a thick hem on the bottom to prevent the dreaded roll up that my other bike shorts sometimes experience.

122

Of course the lovable Rio had to get into the photos!

073

Overall I am quite happy with how they turned out. My hem is not perfect, but it was the first time using my new machine to sew this thick/stretchy of material. They will be perfect to wear under skirts and dresses and perhaps they will convert me to be more of a shorts person! Until next time stay creative!

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Long and Bike shorts of it!

  1. barb says:

    Love this idea.
    I was wondering how easy it would be to take thrift store pants….the ones that are very colourful and make them into shorts/capris…just shorten right?

    Like

    • sew892 says:

      Exactly you would just find the new length add a bit to it for a seam allowance and just give them a new hem. It is usually super easy I do it quite a lot! The only time there seems to be an issue is when they have a lot of stretch to them and they become to tight around the thigh. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. Pingback: My New & Old

Leave a Reply

